The Learning for Justice Social Justice Standards

Social justice education is essential in the current hostile learning environment created by censorship laws and policies aimed at prohibiting the teaching of honest history and further marginalizing LGBTQ+ students and educators. Helping children understand their own identities without devaluing others; encouraging them as they find the ways we’re all connected and deserving of respect; teaching them to recognize injustice and showing them how to act against it—this is the work of social justice education.

The Learning for Justice Social Justice Standards are designed to guide in the development of inclusive curricula to make schools safer and more just and equitable. The standards are divided into four domains: identity, diversity, justice and action. Walking through each domain one at a time can help you understand and apply each standard in practice so young people develop the skills they need to reduce bias and prejudice to make schools and communities safer places for all.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s