2017 Winners of Edward O’Brien Award in HRE

Human Rights Educators USA (HRE USA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Edward O’Brien Award for Human Rights Education.

Mariana Leal Ferreira
Mariana Leal Ferreira
Cliff Mayotte
Cliff Mayotte


Mariana Leal Ferreira of San Francisco State University is the recipient of the award for individual achievement inthe field. Cliff Mayotte will accept the organizational award on behalf of the Voice of Witness Education Program.

Established in 2015 in memory of Ed O’Brien, pioneer human rights educator, the O’Brien Award honors an individual and an organization that have made an outstanding contribution to human rights education in the United States. This year’s awards will be formally made Saturday, November 18 during the annual conference of the National Co­uncil for the Social Studies in San Francisco.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s